View the 37th Annual PSN Convention schedule & directory.



Brief Biography


Professor David Harris MD, BS, FRACP




David Harris is Professor of Medicine at The University of Sydney, Director of Nephrology and Dialysis in the Western Sydney Renal Service, and Director of the Renal Failure Laboratory in the Centre for Transplantation and Renal Research, Westmead Institute for Medical Research.

He is President-elect of the International Society of Nephrology, Past-President of the Asian Pacific Society of Nephrology, and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Australasian Kidney Trials Network. Recent awards include Distinguished Professorial Award (Uni Sydney, 2016) and the Priscilla Kincaid-Smith Medal for outstanding clinical and scientific achievement in research into treatment of diseases of kidney & urinary tract (2012).

He has published more than 280 papers, and given more than 200 invited national and international presentations. His major clinical and research interests include progressive CKD and dialysis, and his laboratory interests are focussed on pathogenesis of and novel therapies for progressive CKD.

Professor Orson W. Moe, M.D.


Orson Moe received his medical degree from the University of Toronto where he also trained in internal medicine and nephrology. He is currently Professor of Internal Medicine and Physiology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas, USA. He is the Director of the Charles and Jane Pak Center of Mineral Metabolism and Clinical Research and the Chief of the Nephrology Division at Southwestern. Moe is the holder of the Charles and Jane Pak Distinguished Chair in Mineral Metabolism Research and the Donald Seldin Professorship in Clinical Investigation.

Moe conducts both basic science and patient-oriented research on renal physiology, metabolism, and epithelial biology. His research strives to cross from the level of the whole patient, to animal and cell culture models, and down to single molecules. The major fields of research are in nephrolithiasis, acid-base physiology, pathophysiology and cardiovascular complications of acute kidney injury and chronic kidney disease. He is active in teaching at the undergraduate and post-graduate level in his institution, and also nationally and internationally.

He is the editor of Current Opinion in Nephrology and Hypertension: Pathophysiology Section. Moe also serves on the editorial board of the American Journal of Physiology and edits the textbook “The Kidney: Physiology and Pathophysiology by Seldin and Giebisch”. Moe is currently a member of the American Society of Nephrology, International Society of Nephrology, American Physiologic Society, American Society of Clinical Research, and American Association of Physicians.


Professor Ikuto Masakane, MD


He graduated from Yamagata University in 1986 and finished his doctor course at 1990. His interests of clinical practice and research in nephrology are about chronic dialysis, and the key words are online hemodiafiltraion (HDF), dialysis water quality, QOL of dialysis patients.

He is one of the executive board members of the Japanese Society of Dialysis Therapy (JSDT) and the director of the committee of JSDT Renal Data Registry (CRDR). He has been working in Yabuki Hospital Group as a nephrologist for 17 years and the assistant director of Yabuki Hospital since 2013.

Professor Adrian Liew, M.D.


Dr Adrian Liew is a Senior Consultant Nephrologist and Chief of the Department of Renal Medicine at Tan Tock Seng Hospital, a 1800-bedded tertiary care hospital in Singapore. He is an Associate Professor of Medicine, and is the Renal Curriculum and OSCE Lead with the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine at Nanyang Technological University-Imperial College London.

Dr Liew has been elected as a fellow to various academic institutions, including the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh), American Society of Nephrology and the Academy of Medicine, Singapore. He serves in his professional capacity as a member of the National Renal Advisory Committee and Transplantation Advisory Committee, and is an appointed Senior Consultant with the Ministry of Health, Singapore. He is a principal investigator for various international multicenter trials, and is the global coordinating principal investigator for the BRIGHT-SC trial as well as the National Advisor for the SONAR and ASCEND studies.

He is the Subject Editor for the Nephrology Journal, and his clinical research interests include peritoneal dialysis program management, peritoneal dialysis catheter placement, outcomes and treatment of lupus nephritis and IgA nephropathy, and immunosuppression in kidney diseases. Dr Liew has also been actively involved in the training of medical staff in the region, and have helped units to develop peritoneal dialysis and glomerular disease programs in various countries, including Brunei, Indonesia, Philippines and Myanmar.